welcome to frog blog

Blogging?

May 29, 2023

I'm working on figuring out a blogging method. The dreamwidth method is okay, but I want to have a native neocities blog, I think. There's far too many different ways to go about doing this, so I'll probably cycle through a few until I figure out something I like. The two main methods are a stream-of-consciousness style, which is cool, but I tend to be very verbose in blog posts that aren't just music reviews, and I want to be able to record a few different topics, so the page would get way too long too fast. I want to figure out a tagging system, as well, so I'll probably have to suck it up and figure out some javascript to organize it better. I know Java and a small amount of Javascript, but it's been years since I've fooled around with it. I can't even remember what project I did with Javascript? Either way, my skills are rusty.

I think I'll settle on this method for now where each entry is a seperate page and file, as clunky as that is. I might eliminate the sidebar so I don't have to edit it nearly as much and have a single page with a directory to every entry. Not sure if I'll attempt a comment box on them too or just let people use the chat alone. Websites are tricky.

I originally had a paragraph of rambling about society here, but decided that I probably don't want my blog to just be a place of rambling about that. So instead, I'll do something sane and normal. I guess writing down what I'm doing in life is a good first step.