welcome to frog blog

Busy busy busy busy, music recs

June 12, 2023

Uhhh, new blog post. Nice.

I've been busy but also bored. I think I may do some music recs this blog post, but first some other things. Life updates. I've done some more work for the business. I filled out the application and am just waiting on the whole approval thing so I can start a bank account and get to work on the preliminary tasks (buying uniforms, practicing a few recipes I don't eat at home, getting supplies, etc). The garden has started producing lettuce, which we used for a very nice salad. We had some oilseed pumpkins seeds from last year that I roasted. They came out very nice. They had almost a pistachio flavor without all of the effort of pistachios (and a more satifsying texture in my opinion). I still have so many things to do both hobby wise and house-fixing wise. Every time I finally have a day to do something I had planned to do, something else comes up. That's life.

Media wise, I've done more movie-watching. We watched Toast (2010) last night. We went in entirely blind aside from a clip my husband watched that made him suggest it. Neither of us knew it was in some part a gay romance film, which resulted in a few "wait a second" moments until it connected. I was going in knowing it just was a biofilm with coming-of-age elements. It was a pretty good movie. The cinematography was very well-done. The pacing was a bit weird and sometimes hard-to-follow. There was a lot of focus on food because that was the central theme of the movie. Unfortunately, British food in general tends to look unnappetizing in the first place, which is part of the point.

I read The Hellbound Heart, the book that the Hellraiser series is based on, recently. It was a good book. It definitely was more of cosmic horror than the movies had, but that tends to happen from book to screen. I need to get back into reading in general. Or doing any kind of simple hobby. I also need to get back into quilting, drawing, anything. Anyways, it's recent listening time. I'm not really sticking to a theme this time, just a selection of music I've been wanting to suggest.

Album Recs 06/13/2023

I wanted to try to suggest more, and maybe some albums that weren't from 40 years ago, but I guess I didn't have any this time. I need to get some of the historic listening out. And maybe suggest some singles. I just listen to a lot of music, but it's been more of a passive process since I've been busy. I could just dump a spotify link or something, but I think I prefer having to think about and expand on my thoughts when suggesting it.